Patient Reviews

Reviews for Young H. Choi, M.D. Eye Surgery Center

Young H. Choi, M.D. Eye Surgery Center is a leading practice that offers exclusive eye care in the Greater Birmingham area. Board-certified opthalmologist Dr. Young Choi has helped countless men and women regain optimal vision so they can thrive and enjoy life with the ones they love. Many of our patients have shared their testimonials online, and we invite you to read through their stories to learn more about Dr. Choi and our thriving practice.

Filter35 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 20, 2021

All went well and quite fast! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 09, 2021

Wonderful people working and all very very nice. The doctor was great and I appreciated very much his prayer at the beginning of surgery. God bless each of them More

5.0
Review from D.B.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Mar 01, 2021

Before going to see Dr. Choi it was extremely difficult and eventually dangerous for me to drive at night. I worked as a firefighter and first responder, so I needed my vision to be reliable. I went to other offices but was unable to get the care that I needed. I had glaucoma alleviation treatment and cataracts removed from both eyes with Dr. Choi. Thanks to Dr. Choi and his staff, I am now able to see without glasses and safely drive at night. Thank you, Lord Jesus Christ, for the talent skills and abilities of Dr. Choi and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 23, 2021

Dr. Choi did my tri-focal lens replacement in mid-January and I am very happy. My wife and I are saving to have hers done there as well. Healing has been exactly what the Dr. stated it would be. I was a tad impatient on the front side expecting miracles immediately and failed to realize the body needs time to heal. I was super pumped since I wore glasses for 37 years (this includes most of my childhood). Thank you Dr. Choi for opening up a new and exiting world to me. I would also like to state all of the staff is nothing short of excellent. Thanks to everyone. More

5.0
Review from R.C.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jan 13, 2021

In November I had surgery to remove cataracts, and also wished to be free of wearing glasses so my stigmatism and nearsightedness were corrected with new trifocal and trifocal Toric lenses. The results were life changing to say the least. It's wonderful to be able to read, watch tv, and track my golf ball all without having to wear glasses. I'm almost 73 and I believe my "new eyes" have indeed enhanced the quality of my life. I give Dr. Choi and his staff five stars and an excellent rating. Dr. Choi was warm, personable and genuinely seemed concerned about improving my vision. He, along with his staff were very professional yet welcoming and friendly at the same time. I also appreciate their detailed efforts to adhere to the Covid-19 safety guidelines. My dealings with Dr. Choi and staff was a wonderful experience to say the least. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 19, 2020

Thank you Dr. Choi for the my vision! Feels good to not have to wear contacts or glasses ever again! Strongly recomment choosing Dr. Choi if you need lasik, he is a very caring doctor with a very professional staff. More

5.0
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Nov 23, 2020

My mother was one of Dr. Choi's very first patients. She had an eye infection and during the night contacted Dr. Choi's office. At the time, he was on call and came to her house in the middle of the night to take her in his car to the office. He is a very special and caring person. I would not let anyone else touch my eyes but Dr. Choi. I am satisfied with my personal experience with his staff; and I like the fact that I was asked to wait in my car before seeing the doctor (due to COVID-19 precautions). I recommend Dr. Choi to my friends/family based on my experience. He is the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 11, 2020

The best caring ophthalmologist you could see. Has done 2 types of surgery on me in the last 11 years. Very pleased with all my care. Also done surgery on my husband and he is also very pleased with his care. Excellent care . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 09, 2020

You are in good hands with Dr. Choi. He has a rare gift. Not only as a highly skilled surgeon, but also as a kind, patient, caring physician. His kindness is reflected through his awesome staff. AND I CAN SEE! For the first time in my life, I can see the leaves on the trees, the individual flowers, my husband’s eyelashes! Without glasses! Thanks for a priceless gift. More

5.0
Review from DL  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Nov 06, 2020

5 Stars! Thank you Dr Choi and crew for my trifocal lens replacement surgery (souped-up cataract surgery). For me the healing time was very quick and I came out of the procedure already able to see. Now, three months after surgery, I see better than I can remember ever seeing before (my vision is now 20/20). Before surgery my eyes were so bad (about -11) that I was not a candidate for anything but the trifocal lens replacement surgery but I saw it as an investment in my future health as I was getting worried about night driving. So glad I did it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Oct 30, 2020

Dr. Choi and his staff were great! I had successful results and am grateful to have been recommended to him.Thank you Dr. Choi and staff for everything! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 27, 2020

Had a perfect result with my surgery. I’m very happy with the experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2020

I 💯 recommend Dr. Choi for Cataract Eye Surgery, LASIK, SMILE, YAG, SLT, and Goniatomy - among other clinical procedures offered. He and his staff are extremely friendly and accommodating (especially during COVID-19) Not to mention, it is the nicest surgical facility I have ever seen! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 21, 2020

I am beyond impressed with my recent Lasix by Dr. Choi! They all made me feel very safe and comfortable the whole time. Dr. Choi took his time explaining and weighing options. I felt like he actually cared and I wasn’t just another patient. I love my new eyes! I can finally see!! More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 28, 2020

I cried after surgery when I could see. More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 28, 2020

Everyone was professional, friendly and efficient. The results have been excellent, with my eyes going from 20/200 vision to near-perfect 20/20 after surgery. More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 28, 2020

Cataract surgery several years ago by Dr. Choi was a complete success! I appreciate every day having good vision. Because he used mono-type (blended vision) for me, I require NO reading assistance for close-up or distance vision ... Dr. Choi has a gentle approach, well-informed by good training and expertise. I would eagerly and enthusiastically recommend him to anyone who needs his service. More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 28, 2020

Dr. Choi fulfilled everything that he has promised. I can see. I can see better than I ever have. I can see a crack in the wall. I can see the leaves on the trees. I can see how beautiful my family is. My entire life has changed. My attitude got better. My faith got stronger. My entire outlook on life has changed. Now I have hope. More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 28, 2020

Dr. Choi gave me the best gift ever. I can not be thankful enough for the care he gave me. I can see better after cataract surgery than I ever have, even as a child. More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 28, 2020

I challenge you to find another doctor in Dr. Choi's field of expertise that will care for you the way he does. More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 28, 2020

Dr. Choi and his staff were very professional, thoroughly explained, and answered all of my questions prior to my cataract surgery. My first procedure went very well and I can already see an improvement in my vision. More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 28, 2020

Dr. Choi is so good with patients that when he told me I had to have eye surgery, I trusted him so much, that I said ok without even thinking much about it. He put me to ease when he first walked in. He is the only doctor I have any interest in going to see for my eyes. He is great. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 24, 2019

Performed cataract surgery on both eyes 5 years ago. My vision improved markedly and has remained excellent to present. His O.D. Dr. Gregory is also excellent and the imaging test equipment including ultrasound is state of the art. They monitor my angle closure glaucoma every 4 months with pressures of 10 in each eye. Vision last appointment (March 2019) was 20/15. Not bad for 76 years old. Great doctors, great office!!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 24, 2018

Friendly and professional in both office and outpatient surgery hospital. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 17, 2017

Had Lasik surgery from Dr. Choi he was very professional and answered any questions. Was scheduled for surgery the following week. Surgery was quick and I'm in my third week of recovery. My eyesight went from a prescription -2.75/-3 to 20/20. Money very well spent. Would recommend anyone wanting or thinking about Lasik to him. Very nice man. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Nov 09, 2016

Incredible experience! My local Optometerist sent me to see Dr Choi for Cataract Surgery and the care I received was top notch! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 08, 2016

Dr. Choi is an excellent surgeon. I had cataracts removed and astigmatism corrected in both eyes. My vision is very good. My dependency on glasses has been greatly reduced. Great bedside manner - very calming, answers questions, spends plenty of time with patients. He even prayed with me before the surgery. Beautiful office. His office is always crowded and that is because of his excellent expertise and personality. Staff is OK. I do trust him to do further surgery if necessary. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.F.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Apr 26, 2015

On time, caring/friendly/competent staff, modern equipment & procedures, concerned for his patients, prays over them before surgery, listens intently to patients, confident in his diagnosis/treatment. I'd like to adopt him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.P.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Jul 09, 2013

Does this provider promptly return your phone calls? Definitely! They always call me back very quickly! Was the waiting area spacious? Yes, extremely spacious Does this provider leave you on hold for a long time when you call? Never! I don't think I've ever been put on hold here for a long time Is this business handicap-accessible? Absolutely, even the bathrooms are handicap-accessible Is this business in a safe neighborhood? Absolutely, It is the safest neighborhood around More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Wellness  |  May 16, 2013

Was it easy to make an appointment with this provider? Yes! It was effortless! Was this provider's office too cold? Not at all, it was the perfect temperature Did this provider answer all of your questions? Every question I had was answered thoroughly Does this provider treat every client equally? Definitely, they make everyone feel equally respected and cared for Did this provider ever dismiss your concerns as unimportant? Never, they go out of their way to address every concern of mine immediately More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Nov 26, 2012

Was this provider's office too cold? Not at all, it was the perfect temperature Were the staff members able to answer your questions? Yes! They were the most knowledgeable staff I've ever seen! Was it clear that this provider takes pride in the appearance of his/her office? Definitely! It was one of the best looking offices I've ever seen! Does this provider use current and safe equipment? Yes; the equipment is very advanced! Did you experience unnecessary pain during your visit? Not one bit! I felt much better when I left! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Jun 06, 2012

InVision Ophthalmology is hands down the best doctor's office experience compared to others, including my dentist and family doctor. Dr. Choi takes his time and answers questions. He is patient, and most of all, he is kind. The staff is the same way. I would recommend him to anyone without hesitation. Most of all, he gave me my sight! During surgery, he knew what to say to put my mind at ease. I am thankful to Dr. Choi for everything he has done to help make my life better. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Jan 18, 2012

Would you recommend this ophthalmologist to others? I Already Have Did this provider listen to your input and concerns? Absolutely! This provider always listens carefully to what I have to say! Did this provider answer all of your questions? Every question I had was answered thoroughly More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Dec 06, 2011

They were so kind and attentive to me. I didn't have to worry about them arguing with me, or contradicting what I had to say, which has been a problem for me at other places. They go out of their way to make everyone feel equally respected and cared for. I've seen client favoritism at some of the other places I've been, and I really appreciate the extra effort they make to avoid that here. I was seen almost as soon as I walked in the door. I didn't have to reorganize my day around my appointment at all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Yellowpages  |  Sep 26, 2010

Mrs. - There is nothing but positive things for me to say about Dr. Choi. I appreciate his knowledge and skills as a physician and surgeon. Dr. Choi has a great reputation and came highly recommended to me. Once he became my doctor, I understood why. His credentials are impressive, but more than that is his compassion and genuine interest in me, the patient. As he was highly recommended to me, I would in return, have no reservations in recommending him to family and friends. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.