Patient Reviews

Reviews for Cataracts Services in Vestavia Hills, AL

Young H. Choi, M.D. Eye Surgery Center is a leading practice that offers exclusive eye care in the Greater Birmingham area. Board-certified opthalmologist Dr. Young Choi has helped countless men and women regain optimal vision so they can thrive and enjoy life with the ones they love. Many of our patients have shared their testimonials online, and we invite you to read through their stories to learn more about Dr. Choi and our thriving practice.

Filter19 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 11, 2021

Utilizing top notch technology, Dr. Choi provides an excellent patient experience. He is warm and personable, professional and highly skilled. Cataracts at 45 were unexpected, but Dr. Choi put me at ease and the surgery went better than I expected. His staff is kind, knowledgeable, and exhibited professionalism each time I went to the office. I highly recommend Dr. Choi for eye surgery or needs beyond your optometrist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 09, 2021

I am an interventional cardiologist from Florida and I had very bad near vision with astigmatism, and my wife is a retired RN who had difficulty reading. I researched for about 2 weeks for the best opthalmologist to correct my and my wife's vision. I would have traveled to anywhere in the United States since it involves our vision. Luckily, the best candidate I found was Dr Choi, who was only a 5 hour drive away. My wife and I went to Dr Choi for consultation. We were lucky to get appointments quickly during the pandemic. Initially I thought we were going to get the SMILE procedure, but Dr Choi recommended intraocular lens replacement. Both of us eventually got our vision corrected by intraocular lens implants. Our procedures went perfectly and I now have perfect vision. I am also a consultant for the FAA and I have been recommending Dr Choi to the pilots who want vision correction. We are so grateful to Dr Choi and his staff. We could not be happier. Francis K. Le, MD More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 09, 2021

I am an interventional cardiologist from Florida and I had very bad near vision with astigmatism, and my wife is a retired RN who had difficulty reading. I researched for about 2 weeks for the best opthalmologist to correct my and my wife's vision. I would have traveled to anywhere in the United States since it involves our vision. Luckily, the best candidate I found was Dr Choi, who was only a 5 hour drive away. My wife and I went to Dr Choi for consultation. We were lucky to get appointments quickly during the pandemic. Initially I thought we were going to get the SMILE procedure, but Dr Choi recommended intraocular lens replacement. Both of us eventually got our vision corrected by intraocular lens implants. Our procedures went perfectly and I now have perfect vision. I am also a consultant for the FAA and I have been recommending Dr Choi to the pilots who want vision correction. We are so grateful to Dr Choi and his staff. We could not be happier. Francis K. Le, MD More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 09, 2021

I am an interventional cardiologist from Florida and I had very bad near vision with astigmatism, and my wife is a retired RN who had difficulty reading. I researched for about 2 weeks for the best opthalmologist to correct my and my wife's vision. I would have traveled to anywhere in the United States since it involves our vision. Luckily, the best candidate I found was Dr Choi, who was only a 5 hour drive away. My wife and I went to Dr Choi for consultation. We were lucky to get appointments quickly during the pandemic. Initially I thought we were going to get the SMILE procedure, but Dr Choi recommended intraocular lens replacement. Both of us eventually got our vision corrected by intraocular lens implants. Our procedures went perfectly and I now have perfect vision. I am also a consultant for the FAA and I have been recommending Dr Choi to the pilots who want vision correction. We are so grateful to Dr Choi and his staff. We could not be happier. Francis K. Le, MD More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.R.  |  Source: Google  |  May 27, 2021

What can i say it was like the classic cinematic trick in the Wizard of Oz where Kansas was filmed in black and white then when Dorothy arrived in Oz it was in color. The staff was wonderful and I also had vision correction in left eye. I had bad vision all of my life and RK surgery complicated the cataract surgery and the vision i now have at my age is amazing. Great job. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.W.  |  Source: Google  |  May 13, 2021

Dr. Choi is terrific. I had cataract & astigmatism correction surgery on my left eye May 5th & Dr. Choi & his staff put me at ease immediately. They are professional, caring & very knowledgeable, answering my many questions. Surgery was done painlessly & successfully under mild sedative (no anesthesia). I'm looking forward to Dr. Choi doing same surgery on right eye May 19th. I highly recommend Dr. Choi! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 09, 2021

Wonderful people working and all very very nice. The doctor was great and I appreciated very much his prayer at the beginning of surgery. God bless each of them More

5.0
Review from D.B.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Mar 01, 2021

Before going to see Dr. Choi it was extremely difficult and eventually dangerous for me to drive at night. I worked as a firefighter and first responder, so I needed my vision to be reliable. I went to other offices but was unable to get the care that I needed. I had glaucoma alleviation treatment and cataracts removed from both eyes with Dr. Choi. Thanks to Dr. Choi and his staff, I am now able to see without glasses and safely drive at night. Thank you, Lord Jesus Christ, for the talent skills and abilities of Dr. Choi and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 23, 2021

Dr. Choi did my tri-focal lens replacement in mid-January and I am very happy. My wife and I are saving to have hers done there as well. Healing has been exactly what the Dr. stated it would be. I was a tad impatient on the front side expecting miracles immediately and failed to realize the body needs time to heal. I was super pumped since I wore glasses for 37 years (this includes most of my childhood). Thank you Dr. Choi for opening up a new and exiting world to me. I would also like to state all of the staff is nothing short of excellent. Thanks to everyone. More

5.0
Review from R.C.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jan 13, 2021

In November I had surgery to remove cataracts, and also wished to be free of wearing glasses so my stigmatism and nearsightedness were corrected with new trifocal and trifocal Toric lenses. The results were life changing to say the least. It's wonderful to be able to read, watch tv, and track my golf ball all without having to wear glasses. I'm almost 73 and I believe my "new eyes" have indeed enhanced the quality of my life. I give Dr. Choi and his staff five stars and an excellent rating. Dr. Choi was warm, personable and genuinely seemed concerned about improving my vision. He, along with his staff were very professional yet welcoming and friendly at the same time. I also appreciate their detailed efforts to adhere to the Covid-19 safety guidelines. My dealings with Dr. Choi and staff was a wonderful experience to say the least. More

5.0
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Nov 23, 2020

My mother was one of Dr. Choi's very first patients. She had an eye infection and during the night contacted Dr. Choi's office. At the time, he was on call and came to her house in the middle of the night to take her in his car to the office. He is a very special and caring person. I would not let anyone else touch my eyes but Dr. Choi. I am satisfied with my personal experience with his staff; and I like the fact that I was asked to wait in my car before seeing the doctor (due to COVID-19 precautions). I recommend Dr. Choi to my friends/family based on my experience. He is the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 11, 2020

The best caring ophthalmologist you could see. Has done 2 types of surgery on me in the last 11 years. Very pleased with all my care. Also done surgery on my husband and he is also very pleased with his care. Excellent care . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 09, 2020

You are in good hands with Dr. Choi. He has a rare gift. Not only as a highly skilled surgeon, but also as a kind, patient, caring physician. His kindness is reflected through his awesome staff. AND I CAN SEE! For the first time in my life, I can see the leaves on the trees, the individual flowers, my husband’s eyelashes! Without glasses! Thanks for a priceless gift. More

5.0
Review from DL  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Nov 06, 2020

5 Stars! Thank you Dr Choi and crew for my trifocal lens replacement surgery (souped-up cataract surgery). For me the healing time was very quick and I came out of the procedure already able to see. Now, three months after surgery, I see better than I can remember ever seeing before (my vision is now 20/20). Before surgery my eyes were so bad (about -11) that I was not a candidate for anything but the trifocal lens replacement surgery but I saw it as an investment in my future health as I was getting worried about night driving. So glad I did it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2020

I 💯 recommend Dr. Choi for Cataract Eye Surgery, LASIK, SMILE, YAG, SLT, and Goniatomy - among other clinical procedures offered. He and his staff are extremely friendly and accommodating (especially during COVID-19) Not to mention, it is the nicest surgical facility I have ever seen! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 24, 2019

Performed cataract surgery on both eyes 5 years ago. My vision improved markedly and has remained excellent to present. His O.D. Dr. Gregory is also excellent and the imaging test equipment including ultrasound is state of the art. They monitor my angle closure glaucoma every 4 months with pressures of 10 in each eye. Vision last appointment (March 2019) was 20/15. Not bad for 76 years old. Great doctors, great office!!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 24, 2018

Friendly and professional in both office and outpatient surgery hospital. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Nov 09, 2016

Incredible experience! My local Optometerist sent me to see Dr Choi for Cataract Surgery and the care I received was top notch! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 08, 2016

Dr. Choi is an excellent surgeon. I had cataracts removed and astigmatism corrected in both eyes. My vision is very good. My dependency on glasses has been greatly reduced. Great bedside manner - very calming, answers questions, spends plenty of time with patients. He even prayed with me before the surgery. Beautiful office. His office is always crowded and that is because of his excellent expertise and personality. Staff is OK. I do trust him to do further surgery if necessary. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.